麦卢卡蜂蜜行业

New-zealand-propolis-immune-support.jpg

新西兰一年中的大部分时间里,本土的麦卢卡都没有开花。然后,大约从每年 9 月初开始,就会发生一些神奇的事情。

随着新西兰冬季的离去和季节的变化,在新西兰一些最偏远的地区,麦卢卡开始开花。一开始只是花蕾,但很快,这些花蕾就长成了美丽的麦卢卡花。

要收获麦卢卡花蜜,环境条件必须恰到好处。如果风太大,花就会被从枝上扯下来;下雨时,蜜蜂不愿从防水的蜂巢里出来冒险。这就是生产麦卢卡蜂蜜既令人兴奋又如此艰难的原因。麦卢卡花在短短25 天内,会经历从花蕾到花朵完全绽放的五个阶段。到第五个阶段时,已经不再产生花蜜。这并没有给我们的养蜂人留下很多时间来移动和放置我们的蜂箱,蜜蜂收集麦卢卡花蜜的时间也很紧张。

当麦卢卡花盛开时,我们的养蜂人经常昼夜不停地工作,甚至使用直升机将蜂箱运送到条件艰苦的偏远地区。当我们成功时,快乐的蜜蜂会享用甜美的麦卢卡花蜜,并将其运回蜂巢,制成大自然中最神奇、最稀有的礼物之一:浓稠、芳香浓郁、富含甲基乙二醛(MGO )的麦卢卡蜂蜜。

麦卢卡蜂蜜科学

麦卢卡蜂蜜不同于任何其他类型的蜂蜜。很久以前,研究其药用特性的科学家记录了麦卢卡蜂蜜不寻常的生物活性性质。经过多年的研究和技术进步,他们发现麦卢卡蜂蜜独特的生物活性是由其异常浓度的甲基乙二醛(MGO)引起的 。日常蜂蜜中 MGO 的浓度可能为 2-5 毫克 MGO每公斤蜂蜜。麦卢卡蜂蜜的MGO含量可高达普通蜂蜜的 500倍。

 

简而言之,麦卢卡蜂蜜是独一无二的,人们不只是把它当一种天然的甜味剂使用。

New-zealand-propolis-immune-support.jpg

保持正宗性

对麦卢卡蜂蜜的相对较高的需求量,加上其稀有性,有时会导致麦卢卡蜂蜜在市场上的短缺。

新西兰初级产业部 (MPI)引入了麦卢卡蜂蜜的明确法律定义。 如今的定义规定,来自花蜜的四种化学标记物和来自花粉的一种DNA标记物必须达到一定水平,才能满足麦卢卡蜂蜜的海外出口要求。 该规则于 2018 年 2 月生效。

Helena Health欢迎此法律定义和监管。 我们所有的蜂蜜都符合或超过 MPI 的定义规定,而且我们对每批麦卢卡蜂蜜都进行测试。 更重要的是,这些规定让消费者更有购买到正宗麦卢卡蜂蜜的信心。

The Manuka Honey Industry

The Manuka honey industry is always evolving and always interesting.

It’s an industry we feel privileged to be a part of.

New-zealand-propolis-immune-support.jpg

 Manuka honey: A rare gift 

For most of the year here in New Zealand, our native Manuka plants are without flowers. Then, from approximately early September every year, something remarkable happens.

 

As the New Zealand winter wanes and seasons shift, in some of the most isolated areas of the country, our native Manuka plants begin to flower. The flowers are nothing more than buds at first. But quickly, the buds blossom into beautiful Manuka flowers. 

 

To harvest Manuka nectar, environmental conditions must be just right. If winds are too strong the flowers are ripped from their stems; when rains come, the bees decide against venturing from their waterproof hives. This is what makes producing Manuka honey both so exciting and so tough. Manuka flowers move from buds to stage five flowers (that no longer produce nectar) in around 25 days. That doesn’t leave a lot of time for our beekeepers to move and place our beehives, and for the bees to gather Manuka nectar. 

 

When the Manuka flowers are in bloom our beekeepers often work tirelessly around the clock, even using helicopters to move beehives to challenging, remote locations. When we’re successful happy bees feast on sweet Manuka nectar and transport it back to their hives to make one of nature’s most remarkable and rare gifts: thick, aromatic and rich, high-MGO Manuka honey.

 Manuka honey science 

Manuka honey is unlike any other type of honey. Long ago, scientists investigating its medicinal properties documented Manuka honey’s unusual bioactive nature. After years more research and technological advances, they discovered Manuka honey’s distinctive bioactive properties were caused by its unusual concentrations of methylglyoxal, or MGO. Everyday honey might have MGO concentrations of 2-5mg of MGO per kg. Manuka honey houses as much as 500 times that amount.

Simply put, Manuka honey is unique and people use it as much more than just a naturally sweet substance.

New-zealand-propolis-immune-support.jpg

 Maintaining authenticity 

The relatively high demand for Manuka honey – alongside its rarity – sometimes causes shortages.

 

New Zealand’s Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) introduced a clear cut legal definition of Manuka honey. Today’s definition states that four chemical markers from nectar and one DNA marker from Manuka pollen must be at a certain level to meet overseas export requirements for Manuka honey. The rules came into effect in February 2018.

 

At Helena Health, we welcome the definition and regulation. All our honey either meets or exceeds the MPI’s definition, and we test every batch of our Manuka honey to be sure of it. What’s more, the regulations once again give consumers the confidence they need to source genuine Manuka honey.