麦卢卡蜂蜜科学

多年前,人们已经意识到麦卢卡蜂蜜的益处。但当时的技术条件下,人们还无法检测其独特的功效。

彼得 · 莫兰教授与独特麦卢卡因子(UMF)

起初,科学家们认为麦卢卡蜂蜜的抗菌功效可以用过氧化氢来解释。长期以来,过氧化氢一直被用作防腐剂。因此科学家们假设,一些麦卢卡蜂蜜中含有的过氧化氢是造成麦卢卡蜂蜜具有此功效的原因。

其他人则未被这一假想说服。终于在1990年,彼得 · 莫兰教授证明了即使麦卢卡蜂蜜中没有过氧化氢的存在,它依旧具有抗菌特性。他还表明一些麦卢卡蜂蜜的“非过氧化氢活性”比其他蜂蜜高。

NZ-Professor-Peter-Molan.jpg

为了区分麦卢卡蜂蜜功效的强与弱,莫兰教授提出了独特麦卢卡因子(UMF)的概念。他用苯酚溶液的浓度来衡量麦卢卡蜂蜜的效力。UMF值越高,麦卢卡蜂蜜的非过氧化氢活性就越强。

尽管莫兰教授的研究已取得突破性进展,但它依旧未能完全揭示麦卢卡蜂蜜非过氧化氢活性的真正原因。莫兰教授创立了UMF评级系统。但25年来,麦卢卡蜂蜜抗菌活性的原因依旧是未知的。

托马斯 · 亨勒教授与甲基乙二醛(MGO)

Professor-Thomas-Henle.jpg

在德国,科学家们继续在实验室内外对麦卢卡蜂蜜进行研究、探测和思考。终于在2006年,托马斯 · 亨勒教授发现,麦卢卡蜂蜜中天然纯在的超高浓度的甲基乙二醛是麦卢卡蜂蜜如此独特的原因。

普通蜂蜜或许有2毫克/千克浓度的甲基乙二醛。但亨勒意识到,麦卢卡蜂蜜中这一成分的含量要高得多。UMF级别高的麦卢卡蜂蜜中,甲基乙二醛含量往往是标准蜂蜜的500倍。​

“独特麦卢卡因子”从此便不再是一个谜。麦卢卡蜂蜜的独特功效是由其甲基乙二醛含量造成的。甲基乙二醛(MGO)解释说明了独特麦卢卡因子这一成分。长久以来被人认为是个谜的麦卢卡蜂蜜,终于被人们所理解。

麦卢卡蜂蜜的MGO含量

麦卢卡蜂蜜品质不一。如今我们知道甲基乙二醛是麦卢卡蜂蜜独特功效的原因,那么纯正、经验证的麦卢卡蜂蜜的MGO浓度含量便可得到测量。

在Helena Health,我们将麦卢卡蜂蜜MGO浓度标注在瓶身。MGO后数字大小直接与瓶内蜂蜜的MGO浓度相对应。例如,MGO500,意味着每公斤麦卢卡蜂蜜中至少含有500毫克的MGO。

一般来说,MGO含量越高越好。

最新科研

只有通过研究,我们才能够理解和解释麦卢卡蜂蜜的特性。如今,科研已经超越了对麦卢卡蜂蜜特性的研究,进入对其潜在健康和保健功效的研究。下面是一些研究成果。

 

选购产品

选购新西兰麦卢卡蜂蜜及蜂产品

从新西兰运送至您家

The Science of Manuka Honey

Years ago, people were quick to spot manuka honey’s benefits. But, without today’s technology, they were unable to investigate its properties.

 Professor Peter Molan and the  Unique Manuka Factor (UMF)

Initially, scientists believed Manuka honey’s antibacterial properties could be explained by hydrogen peroxide. Hydrogen peroxide had long been used as an antiseptic. So scientists hypothesized that the hydrogen peroxide in some Manuka honey explained Manuka honey’s characteristics.

 

Others were unconvinced. Eventually, in 1990, Professor Peter Molan demonstrated that Manuka honey had antibacterial properties even when devoid of hydrogen peroxide. He also showed that some Manuka honeys had a higher ‘non-peroxide activity’ than others.

In an effort to differentiate ‘strong’ Manuka honeys from weaker variants, Professor Molan came up with the UMF, or Unique Manuka Factor. He used the concentration of Phenol solution to benchmark the potency of Manuka honey. The higher the UMF, the greater the non-peroxide activity of a Manuka honey.

 

While Professor Molan’s research broke new ground, it never unearthed the true cause of the non-peroxide activity. Professor Molan introduced the UMF rating system. But what caused anti-bacterial activity in Manuka honey remained unknown for almost 25 years.

 Professor Thomas Henle and ‘MGO’ 

Over in Germany, scientists continued to poke, prod and ponder Manuka honey both in laboratories and out. And eventually, in 2006, Professor Thomas Henle discovered that extraordinarily high concentrations of naturally occurring methylglyoxal was what made Manuka honey unique. 

Everyday honey might have methylglyoxal levels of 2mg/kg. But Manuka honey, Henle realised, contained substantially more. High UMF Manuka honey often contained 500 times as much methylglyoxal as standard honey.

The Unique Manuka Factor was no longer a mystery. Manuka honey’s unique properties were caused by it’s underlying methylglyoxal levels. Methylglyoxal, or MGO explained the UMF. Manuka honey, long a mystery, was finally understood.

 The MGO levels of manuka honey 

Not all Manuka honeys are equal. Now we know that methylglyoxal is the underlying driver of Manuka honey’s unique properties, the MGO concentrations of genuine and certified Manuka honeys can be measured. 

 

At Helena Health, we print the MGO concentrations of Manuka honey on our jars. The MGO levels correspond to the MGO concentration of the honey inside. An MGO of 500, for example, means a Manuka honey contains at least 500mg of MGO per kilo. 

 

As a rule of thumb, the higher the MGO, the better.

Research today

It’s only through research that we’ve been able to understand and explain Manuka honey’s properties. Today, research has progressed past Manuka honey’s properties into its potential health and wellbeing benefits. Some of the research is listed below.

 

 Shop our products 

Buy from our range of Manuka Honey and bee products, delivered directly from New Zealand to your door.